Events We Hold
For Active Duty

History of the VSN sponsored Awards - 2003 to 2022

The last Military Culinary Competition (MCC) was 2018.  We had a 15 year run- 3 with the Maryland Restaurant Association trade show in Baltimore and 12 with the Fall Festival outside Marine Barracks, Washington, DC

DC Mayor's Office Video from 2017 Competition

Las Vegas Review Journal 2016

See historic interviews talking about how we started - The Grill Sergeant on the Pentagon Channel in 2009 talks to Founder Ed Manley, co-chair Jesse Camacho and 11-year White House Chef Walter Scheib (Walter drowned in a hiking accident in 2015.

Ed Manley Jesse Camacho Chef Walter Scheib

*Stars and Stripes does 2012 interview with event co-chair about how we found a home at Marine Barracks in 2007. 
Jesse Camacho, MGySgt, USMC (Ret)

See the photos from the 2017 Military Culinary Competition

Congratulations to the 2018 winning team from the White House (2nd straight win for the W.H.) - CS1's Cameron Tirabassi, Alexandra Cross, Kara Gray & Lorenzo Singh. 

2nd place was the Homeland Security HQ - CS1 Scott Jeffries, CS3 Chris Powell, CS3 Ward Brown, CS2 Noah Holbertson. 

3rd Place was the Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff - SSG Francisco Jaramillo, SSG Luis Irizarry, SGT Judy Luna, TSgt Andy Alvarez.

Thanks to the IFSEA Kae deBrent Hodges Fund for covering student travel and $500 extra for the U. of Maryland, Eastern Shore students.

This event coordinates with the Barracks Row Fall Festival, which attracts more than 10,000 people to 8th Street outside of the Marine Barracks and home of the Commandant. Prizes include $500 for each team member in first place, $250 each for second, and $125 each for third, as well as coins for each winner.

Culinary Competition Photos, Videos and History

Created by Ed Manley, with key support from Elaine Rogers, CMSgt Patrick Moore & MGySgt Jesus Camacho in 2003.  The 20th Anniversary board & ceremony was held on January 16-17, 2023 recognizing the 2022 military's best EA's. 

The board was held at the Ritz-Carlton, with Co-chairs former Chief of Naval Operations ADM & Mrs. John Richardson, joined by five 3-4 stars and their spouses.

  The presentation was in the Hall of Heroes in the Pentagon, followed by an education program in the Chairman's Dining Room.  Speakers were Chef Robert Irvine, Warrior Enterprise's Zachary Green and Chef Lucio Arancibia, President of the Las Vegas ACF.

Sponsors include the Robert Irvine Foundation, Int'l Food Service Executives Association (IFSEA), Monster Energy, Foodservice Institute, Warrior Enterprises and Patrick Moore.  Also thank you to the key managers of the 2022 program, Caroline Hunter (Irvine), Elaine Rogers, Pat Moore, Dana Richardson & Ed Manley (VSN), who performed a miracle.   

The award honors those who serve the Admirals and Generals in their homes!

The 2020 EAOY Competition
A Virtual Presentation
See the 2020 presentation HERE

Meet the 4-star 2021 Board 

Lots of good information, mostly done before the award show.
Finalists Thank the Board


The 20th Enlisted Aide of the Year Award (EAOY)

Date tbd - Nov-Dec 2022

The Metro-DC USO Salute to Military Chef's Dinner was the host of the award from inception to 2021 at the Ritz-Carlton in Pentagon City.  The USO managed the award in 2020-2021, lead by the very best, Elaine Rogers.  Many thanks to the Ritz-Carlton staff, the WWE and Chef Robert Irvine which played key roles.
In 2022, ownership went back to the Veteran's Support Network (VSN), managed by award creator
Ed Manley, teaming up with Elaine Rogers in a new and very exciting setting.  Stay tuned!  

The most recent winners were:
2019 - SSG Justin R. Chase, E.A. to the Commander,
U. S. Army Cyber Command.  
2020 - SSgt Darnell Morris, E.A. to the Commander,
U. S. Central Command.
2021 - CS1 Georges Labaki, U. S. Navy, E.A. to the
Superintendant of the Naval Academy.  

Army has won 6 times, Coast Guard 4, Marines 3, Air Force 3 and Navy 3.  The 20th award will be presented in Nov-Dec 2022 in Washington DC.  Details asap. 

 Lots of photos provided by the USO

The highlight of that evening is the presentation of the Veteran's Support Network's Armed Forces Enlisted Aide of the Year Award.
The current year instruction comes out in August.  Air Force MSgt Jennifer Medeiros won in 2018. 

Championship Belt
WWE's Dana Warrior &
Corey Graves , Ed Manley,
Robert Irvine.
Award CeremonyBest in each service, Jacob Parrett, Teresa Duson, Jennifer Medeiros, Matt Flemister & Michael Edwards.
Championship RingEAOY shows her WWE championship ring. Championship Belt Showcase(l-r) Medeiros family, Chef Robert Irvine, Vice Chmn. Joint Chiefs GEN Paul Silva, Dana Warrior, MSgt Jennifer Medeiros, Corey Graves, MGySgt Jesse Camacho, LCDR Ed Manley, Suzie Schwartz, LTGen Tony Crutchfield, CMSgt Pat Moore, Elaine Rogers & BMI
 In the 2017 photo below (l-r) USO Metro DC President Elaine Rogers, Founder Ed Manley, USAF  Jeff Fritz, USN Frida Karani, USCG Mason Champlin, USMC Jeffrey Mathews, WWE's Mark Henry, Chef Robert Irvine, Ecolab's Jack Kleckner, EAOY Army's Scott Strippoli, Board mbr. Jesse Camacho, Hobart's Richard Hynes.  Winners, organizers and sponsors.

Winners, Organizers and Sponsors

"MSgt Scott Strippoli wins 2017 Inter-service Enlisted Aide of the Year Award."

This event takes place at the Ritz-Carlton in Pentagon City. It is held in conjunction with the USO Salute to Military Chefs and is supported by the WWE. This can be a big deal for enlisted servicepersons' careers. Prizes include $500 for the Enlisted Aide of the Year and $250 each for service winners, along with a WWE Title belt.